Seven To Eternity #1 Review: The King Of The Gut Punch

Published By: Image Comics
Story By
: Rick Remender
Art By: Jerome Opeña
Art By: Matt Hollingsworth
Cover By: Jerome Opeña
Cover By: Matt Hollingsworth
Variant Cover By: Tony Moore
Variant Cover By: Andrew Robinson

I am a big fan of Rick Remender.  Okay, actually if I am going to be honest, I am a Rick Remender fanboy.  This is no secret if you know me or have ever discussed comic books with me.  I have loved his work on Venom, Black Science, Low and other stories I have read over the years.  The guy knows how to write a story, and keep the reader on the edge of their seat.  He’s also the king of the gut punch.  So many times I will be reading a book from him and say “Wow!  I cannot believe he just did that!” or “Oh, okay.  They’re dead?”.  Not many comic book writers can make me feel anger, and loss, and so many emotions from just paper, pencils, and inks.  Remender does, and does it consistently.  The oddest part of my fascination in Remender’s stories is how much I keep coming back.  He has often bumped off a character I really liked, but he does it so damn well.  He makes death feel like a real thing, which it should.  He sometimes has death come out of nowhere for a character, which it should.  He keeps you guessing and makes you feel anxious much of the time.  That’s what a great writer does, and Seven To Eternity did just that.  It made me want to come back for more, and I will.

The story takes place in a fictional kingdom called Zhal.  We are thrown immediately into the lives of Zebadiah, Adam, and Katie Osidis and the rest of their clan.  The story is very much a classic tale of family, of legacy, and of pride.  The story is very much about what happens when the tyrannical God of Whispers tells everyone in the land to kneel to him, and one man says no, I will not.  The dynamics between generations of the Osidis clan are very interesting, and something a lot of people can relate to.  You’ve got the dynamics of an old man who’s had enough and won’t take anymore, the son who is also a father who will do what he must to protect his family, and the daughter who embodies the bravery and naivety of youth.  While this is a fictional tale in a fantasy setting, the family dynamics are something most people can relate to.

This review wouldn’t be complete without talking about the art, which speaks for itself.  Jerome Opena‘s character and creature designs pop right out of this book.  From the cover until the final page, I just stared at some of the panels, especially a large two full page scene that made my jaw nearly drop open with it’s beauty.  Matt Hollingsworth deserves credit here as well, rounding out the super talented team behind this book.  The colors and inks are crisp, and makes this book feel like nothing else I have seen before.

Like most Remender books, this story moves at a breakneck pace, and that is a good thing.  There is a lot that happens in the first issue of Seven To Eternity, and I cannot wait to see where it goes from here.  I can safely say I have the utmost confidence that the king of the gut punch is crafting another classic tale, and the readers will be in for one heck of a ride.

RECOMMENDATION: MUST READ

Leave a Reply

